Cutting chassis frame rail

A place to talk about modifications to the cab and body parts of trucks

Cutting chassis frame rail

Postby shropshirelad » Tue Feb 14, 2017 6:41 pm

What make/type of hacksaw have you guys had success with when cutting Tamiya frame rails ? In the past I have just used a normal size hacksaw a cheap one from Wilkinsons but the blades seem to have alot of flexing and bending in them so I can not cut straight. I need a saw which holds the blade nice and firm
shropshirelad
Trucking Expert
 
Posts: 257
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2012 12:36 pm
Location: TELFORD SHROPSHIRE UK

Re: Cutting chassis frame rail

Postby Drive » Tue Feb 14, 2017 7:55 pm

I have used a modeling hacksaw with a mitre block to cut my rails.
I got mine from emodels, you can find them on line and they will post.
One Wife, Livid!
User avatar
Drive
Trucking Expert
 
Posts: 158
Joined: Sat Dec 14, 2013 11:03 pm
Location: Bucknall, Stoke on Trent

Re: Cutting chassis frame rail

Postby shropshirelad » Tue Feb 14, 2017 8:03 pm

Many thanks. By the way very good job on your wagon and drag.
shropshirelad
Trucking Expert
 
Posts: 257
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2012 12:36 pm
Location: TELFORD SHROPSHIRE UK

Re: Cutting chassis frame rail

Postby Drive » Tue Feb 14, 2017 8:04 pm

Thanks very much, steep learning curve but really enjoyed it. Just doing some marker lights tonight to finish off.
One Wife, Livid!
User avatar
Drive
Trucking Expert
 
Posts: 158
Joined: Sat Dec 14, 2013 11:03 pm
Location: Bucknall, Stoke on Trent

Re: Cutting chassis frame rail

Postby Tech1_uk » Tue Feb 14, 2017 8:55 pm

I use irwin hacksaw and blades. Normally a 18 or 24 tpi blade, Screwfix is the best place to purchase them.

In the past I have also used a dremel and cutting disc.

Cheers Steve
User avatar
Tech1_uk
Administrator
 
Posts: 684
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2012 9:17 pm
Location: Essex

Re: Cutting chassis frame rail

Postby RCRoadtrain » Fri Feb 17, 2017 10:40 pm

just a normal hacksaw. the blade is old, and nearly blunt...

the trick.. no, technique.. is to go slow and come at the cut from different angles, and don't put pressure on the blade, let the weight of the saw do the work.

..clean up with a file.....

:-B
Richard in Sydney

Real Trucks bend in the middle! (better trucks bend more than once...)

http://malfunctioning.doesntexist.com
User avatar
RCRoadtrain
Administrator
 
Posts: 3765
Joined: Fri Dec 04, 2009 8:14 am
Location: Sydney Australia

Re: Cutting chassis frame rail

Postby crisis time » Sun Feb 19, 2017 1:37 am

I use a Miter rite saw that I have had for years and it still cuts perfectly

http://www.hobbytools.com.au/the-dobson-miter-rite/
You are never to old to play
User avatar
crisis time
Advanced Trucker
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2014 3:54 am
Location: Penrith NSW Australia

Re: Cutting chassis frame rail

Postby shropshirelad » Sun Feb 19, 2017 8:21 am

Thanks for all your help. Hoping to start the building soon.
shropshirelad
Trucking Expert
 
Posts: 257
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2012 12:36 pm
Location: TELFORD SHROPSHIRE UK

Re: Cutting chassis frame rail

Postby ClassicTyro » Sun Feb 19, 2017 7:05 pm

In the past I have also used a dremel and cutting disc.


This worked for me too. Go slow, and use paraffin. Really like the idea of using a saw and miter box though, especially for holding a straight edge.
"Calling upon my years of experience, I froze at the controls." -Stirling Moss
http://www.youtube.com/user/classictyro
User avatar
ClassicTyro
The Mutts nutts
 
Posts: 337
Joined: Wed Feb 13, 2013 8:10 pm
Location: Texas, USA

Re: Cutting chassis frame rail

Postby shropshirelad » Sun Feb 19, 2017 7:33 pm

I've looked online for one of those Dobson Miter Rite but can not find any in the UK, it looks a great bit of kit.
shropshirelad
Trucking Expert
 
Posts: 257
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2012 12:36 pm
Location: TELFORD SHROPSHIRE UK

Next

Return to Body/cab support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron